Kaotican Alphabet

Watch the August 17 Chicago show in VR

Soldier Field show to be broadcast live on Samsung Gear VR

UPDATE: Last month’s live 360 show from Chicago is now streaming in full exclusively on Samsung Gear VR. Click here for more info.


Good afternoon. We’re pleased to report that the band’s show at Soldier Field in Chicago on August 17 will be shown live in Virtual Reality, via Samsung Gear VR.

The live broadcast will be available to fans in more than 50 countries on Samsung Gear VR powered by Oculus through the Samsung VR service on August 17, starting at 9pm CT. A concert replay will also be available on Samsung VR for limited period of time.

Here are some FAQs from Samsung about how to watch the show.

Q: What is virtual reality livestream?
A: Tuning into the virtual reality livestream will drop consumer’s right into the middle of the action, in this case, at the Coldplay concert at Soldier Field in Chicago. Viewers are transported to the best seats in the house, fully immersed in the sights and sounds of the show. Just as the concert goer is surrounded by the show in all 360-degrees, so is the VR viewer.

Q: What time will the Coldplay “A Head Full of Dreams Tour” be live in VR?
A: 9:00pm CT. Click here to find out what time that is where you are.

Q: What devices and equipment are needed to watch the VR livestream of Coldplay?
A: Consumers will need a Gear VR with a compatible Samsung smartphone, plus an internet connection. It may also be preferred to wear headphones, but that is up to the user. Once in Gear VR, navigate to the Samsung VR app within the Oculus Store, which is where the livestream will live. The Samsung VR service is available at no additional cost to the customers.

Q: If I miss the live broadcast will I be able to watch it on demand?
A: Yes, the concert replay will be available following the live broadcast. (19 August update: the replay will be available in the next few days.)

Q: How many countries is Samsung VR available in?
A: Samsung VR is available in 51 countries.
North America: USA, Canada
Latin America: Brazil, Argentina, Chile, Mexico, Panama, Ecuador, Guatemala, Uruguay, Paraguay, Colombia, Peru, Dominican Republic
Europe: United Kingdom, Germany, France, Austria, Russia, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Finland, Italy, Morocco, Belgium, Poland, Switzerland, Ireland, Czech, Ukraine
Asia Pacific: Korea, Japan, Hong Kong, Singapore, Taiwan, Australia, New Zealand, Vietnam, Philippines, Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand, India
Middle East/Africa: UAE, Turkey, Saudi Arabia, Israel, Republic of South Africa